Mother’s Day

I feel extremely late writing this, but it’s better late than never, right?

Mother’s Day was not too long ago and I just wanted to give thanks to my mom for all she does. Then I realized that no matter what I do, nothing will ever be a big enough gift to suffice to what my mom has sacrificed to raise me. That in itself is a bit depressing. I looked down at my card and flowers and for a minute thought, “Why even bother?”

It was insulting that my mom was even happy that I gave her a gift. Like, “Oh yeah, I gave you life and basically sold my soul for you, but I totally wasn’t expecting anything today! Flowers and a card? Oh boy, this is my lucky day! Thank you! You are the best daughter ever!”

>________>

That just added salt to the wound.

Is this all it took to win the “Best Daughter Ever” trophy? I thought it would take so much more to earn such a title. Or, at least, it deserves so much more to earn the title. I should have named a star after her or cured cancer, but, no, I just stood there with a card and some flowers.

With that said, does it help in any way that it was a funny card? Funny cards should at least give me 10 cool points. At least.

Then I found out about a lovely website called Kangu and became completely inspired. As the website put it, “Kangu is an online crowdfunding platform for safe births… you can fund a specific pregnant woman’s access to clean, life-saving healthcare services.”

How awesome is that? If there is any great Mother’s Day gift it is this and not just for my mom, but also for the mom I would be helping. I found out about the website from a link that Maggie Doyne posted on her Facebook. If you didn’t know, Maggie Doyne is my ultimate hero. I look up to her in so many ways. When she graduated high school, she took a gap year through an organization in Nepal where she did service work and she felt so bad for the children there that she built a whole school starting with merely $5000 of saving from her baby sitting summer job. She is the founder of Blink Now and the Kopila Valley School. And she did this all before the age of 25. How awesome is that?

maggiedoyne_resized

I actually first found out about her from the back of a potato chip bag while I serving in AmeriCorps NCCC.

Maggie_Doyne_Doritosphoto

Of course, the description on the chip bag is a bit dated. Since reading that in 2010, she has now already built several schools. It is my ultimate dream to be like her one day and start my own non-profit organization to help others.

So, when she mentioned Kangu, I had to jump on it. I immediately dove it and took on the task of selecting a mother. It was harder than I thought and tugged on my conscience more than I thought. I thought it would make me feel better, but donating a measly $20 seemed like nothing when I spend so much on myself every day. Every time I buy make-up or wigs or anything pertaining to gyaru, a little part of me dies. I always think, “None of this means anything.” It’s all just material things that I will soon lose interest in. I could be saving my money to do something great like Maggie, but, no. I spend it on gyaru shit. Well, I do save $200 a month, but is that enough?

Outside of that, it also killed me just simply picking a mother. Whenever I picked a Ugandan woman, I felt racist and, when I picked a Nepalese woman, I felt like I was a traitor. Then I tried focusing on new, young mothers because I figured their lives would be harder. Then I felt awful for thinking that too. All mothers need help regardless of whether they are a new mother or not. It’s odd how something so generous and sweet seemed to have brought out my nasty side. I didn’t want to be bias in any way about the mother I chose. It got so bad, I ultimately decided to pick at random. I literally moved my mouse up and down and pointed at the screen randomly with my eyes closed. Whoever my finger pointed to, that is who I helped.

I opened my eyes and this is who my finger pointed to:

746.a63f338bdfb3efa6ba02a160b3f70085

Her name is Radhika.

Radhika is a 20 year old first time mother. Though she has not decided on a name for a her child, if she has a girl, she hopes she will study computer technology and become a Computer Technician, and if she has a son, she plans to have him study to become a Doctor. She advises other mothers to monitor their health and deliver their baby at a hospital if possible. She will be transported to Bayalpata Hospital for her delivery by ambulance, or jeep. Radhika would like to thank funders from her inner heart, she feels that they are like god for helping people like her.

My shoulders shuddered at the fact that she would want her son to have a greater career than her daughter and the feminist side of me almost picked another woman, but the intelligent side of me stopped that thought. Some of the women’s descriptions are eerily repeated so I’m assuming these aren’t their translated words or probably aren’t their opinions at all.

I quickly opened my purse, pulled out my debit card, and helped this random lady become one step closer to obtaining a safe birth.

I was relieved.

And filled with happiness.

One thought on “Mother’s Day

  1. Aw. Now I feel like a waste of oxygen. I’m 25 and haven’t done anything of consequence. 😦
    You are well on your way though to your heroine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

