Chinatown and my birthday

I turned 24 years old on April 22.

I’m not sure what to say about that. I’m getting old, maybe? No? Not sure.

Nothing was done on that day. I just stayed home all day by myself. My mom did bring me a card, cake, and ice cream though so that completely made my day. That was all I needed… Or, at least, I thought so.

What I really wanted to do was go to China Town in Atlanta.

Yes, I said China Town in Atlanta. I didn’t know there was one. Ok, it’s not a “town”. It’s no China Town in California so don’t expect anything fancy. It’s just a little mall strip that caters to Chinese customers. I know my birthday was a while ago, but I wanted to wait until I got the chance to go to China Town to write a blog entry about it and, in my family, we don’t usually celebrate birthdays or holidays on the actual day of the birthday/holiday. We wait until pay days or days off or sales.

Today was that special day so off we went.

Unfortunately, we went immediately after I got off of work so I didn’t get to dress gyaru or anything. I was literally in my work uniform. How boring. Some of these are my own photos and some of these are photos right off of the website. I’m sure you can tell which ones I took (the shitty ones).

 photo chinaculture0807-11_zpse2046f91.jpg

^ The “entrance”. See what I mean?

 photo 2013-05-05172404_zpsdcd7a4dd.jpg

^ Their beautiful garden! Old Asian men play Chinese checkers here and they are very serious about the game. Don’t mess with them.

 photo 2013-05-05172430_zpsb02b56b6.jpg

 photo 2013-05-05172839_zpsbf6bb297.jpg

^ Shiseido… Are they a popular name brand? I have no idea. I couldn’t afford any of their items anyway.

 photo 2013-05-05180054_zps47b3bbcf.jpg

^ The food court. Just about all the menu’s were in complete Chinese so I had absolutely no idea what was what, but they had hanging featherless ducks and chickens so I figured it must be good.

 photo 2013-05-05180011_zpsdce150c0.jpg

^ I finally decided on this store called “China Kitchen”. That huge wall back there with Chinese written all over it is their menu. I clearly exuberated the WTF face so the kind Chinese lady working the cash register was nice enough to hand me an English menu. Thank you.

The best thing about this trip was the book store. They carried just about every Chinese book you could think of. They even had books on how to learn Chinese and I was going to buy it until I saw this in the magazine section:

 photo 2013-05-05181839_zps17407cf4.jpg

 photo 2013-05-05181814_zps37516ec1.jpg

It’s the April and March issue of Popteen (sadly, no May issue) and they were only $5 each. My eyes lit up like a kid in candy store, but my mom didn’t understand.

“Why are you buying it if you can’t read it?”

She will never understand.

They also had ViVi and a bunch of others magazines, but no other popular gal magazines like Happie Nuts or Egg. I was actually hoping for a magazine with more heavier gyaru make-up. Popteen was always too light and simple in my opinion and I almost thought I wasted my money until I opened it.

 photo 2013-05-05181728_zps3330fd33.jpg

 photo 2013-05-05181638_zps8677d864.jpg

I was sold. I love Popteen now 🙂

While looking at the magazines, the lady at the cash register walked up to me (out of everyone in the store) and asked, “Can I help you?” Translation: “What the fuck are you doing here?” I must have looked completely lost TT_______TT I looked around me and everyone else was Chinese reading Chinese books. They fit in perfectly. And here I was. Some 5’10”, fat black chick in scrubs. I stood out like a sore thumb.

I didn’t get to dress gyaru while I was at China Town, but I did get to practice the day after ^___^

 photo 2013-04-25232410_zps10490f71.jpg

 photo 2013-04-25232241_zpse356b840.jpg

Then my dog, Poopie, snuck in a shot or two *^____^*

 photo 2013-05-06180349_zps8b1a1bca.jpg

 photo 2013-05-06180409_zps8ec9ab64.jpg

He just looked so cute with his head popping out of my blankets. Like a hybrid rat or something, lol.

The best birthday present of all though would have to be me getting to spend three whole days with my boyfriend. We hadn’t seen each other in about 2 months. I had the most fun ever with him and his friends. Those three days went by entirely way too fast. I can’t wait to see him again ❤

3 thoughts on “Chinatown and my birthday

  1. Wow I didnt know they publish it in chinese too :O If you want heavier makeup try looking for 2011,beginning of 2012 issues of eggs beauty (not egg) and ageha. Though ageha is very focused on the kyabajo scene,the eye makeup aspects are really useful for gyaru ^ ^ and once again happy birthday 🙂

  2. Interesting post, but Gyaru come from Japan and have nothing to do with China, even if some Taiwanese and now even mainlanders are starting to copy the style. All the real Gyaru books like Egg are Japanese too (Ageha too, but that’s aimed more at Cabaret hostesses). Thank you!

    • I appreciate your comment, but I never stated anywhere that gyaru originated in China nor that I thought gyaru originated in China. This is simply a post about me visiting Chinatown. The store in Chinatown just so happened to sell gyaru magazines.

Leave a Reply

