27 month natural hair transition

The end of March made it my 27th month of transitioning to natural hair.

I planned to big cut on April 22, my birthday, BUT, oddly, my hair is still short. If I were to cut the relaxed ends, I don’t even think my natural hair would be long enough to put into a bun or a pony tail. I’m not sure why. I use all kinds of oils, protection styles, and even took MSM and biotin and multi-vitamin pills. Yet, my hair is still short after almost 30 months of transitioning. *sigh* Maybe it’s just too poofy for me to see its real length.

I’m not a length queen or anything, but, honestly, it would be nice if my hair was at least long enough to put into a bun on those not-so-good hair days. That would especially come in handy during work days. However, more than length, what I care about most is my hairs health. My heart would shatter if I found out my hair was invaded with split ends. I personally don’t see any so far, but I could be wrong. Lately I’ve been debating if I should cut my hair myself or let a professional do it… The first option seems to be winning in my mind right now.

I’ve learned a lot about my hair during these months- what it doesn’t like and what it does like and I’ve bought quite a bit of products to cater to its needs. I decided to compile a list of my holy grail products so far in my journey and give them the recognition they deserve 🙂

1. TRESemme Naturals Nourishing Moisture Conditioner

0002240062449_500X500

PRICE: $6.50

INGREDIENTS: Water (Aqua) , Stearyl Alcohol , Cetyl Alcohol , Caprylic , Capric Triglyceride , Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine , Fragrance (Parfum) , Lauroyl Lysine , Caprylyl Glycol , Brassica Campestris , Aleurites Fordi Oil Copolymer , Aspartic Acid , Distearyldimonium Chloride , Persea Gratissima Oil (Avocado) , Citric Acid , Alcohol , Isopropyl Alcohol , Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice

REVIEW: The Radiant Volume conditioner works pretty well too. I use these as a leave-in conditioner and as a rinse out conditioner. I love the fact that it has avocado oil and aloe vera in it. This stuff instantly makes my curls pop and it’s so cheap!

2. Shea Moisture Organic Coconut and Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie

wrwer

PRICE: $9.99

INGREDIENTS: Deionized Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Cocos Nucifera Oil (Coconut), Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Persea Gratissima Oil (Avocado), Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Silk Protein, Ammonium Salt, Melia Azadirachta Seed Oil (Neem), Daucus Carota Sativa Seed Oil (Carrot), Sorbitol Esters, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B-5), Caprylyl Glycol, Essential Oil Blend, Lonicera Caprifolium Flower and Lonicera Japonica Flower Extract (Honeysuckle and Japanese Honeysuckle), Tocopherol (Vitamin E)

REVIEW: Shea butter, shea butter, shea butter. I will take any product with shea butter in it. This product was actually recently beaten as my staple moisturizer by product number 4 on this list, but I still feel that I should give this product recognition. I think I just about love every single Shea Moisture product there is.

3. Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque

Picture-221

PRICE: $9.99

INGREDIENTS: Deionized Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Argan Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Emulsifying Wax, Sea Kelp Extract, Panthenol (Vitamin B‐5), Essential Oil Blend, Avocado Oil, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hyssopus Officinalis Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf and Equisetum Arvense Extract, Soybean Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil. *Denotes Certified Organic Ingredient.

REVIEW: I was hesitant to add this to the list because I really want to try the Purification masque first because I’ve read so many reviews saying that the Purification Masque is the most moisturizing out of all of Shea Moisture’s deep conditioners, but, for now, I am in love with this one. Definitely better than the Anti-Breakage Masque, in my opinion.

4. Camille Rose Naturals Almond Jai Twisting Butter

8391095700phpMuFzxT

PRICE: $16.50

INGREDIENTS: almond milk, distilled water, aloe vera leaf juice, BTMS, almond oil, jojoba oil, olive oil, pumpkin seed oil, macadamia oil, hemp, honey, green tea, marshmellow root, amla, optiphen, natural fragrance

REVIEW: This is honestly the best moisturizing product for my dry 4A/4B hair- hands down. Immediately upon putting this on my hair, I think I started praising Jesus. And I’m an atheist. This is the product that trumps the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie and basically trumps any other moisturizing product. You haven’t had moisture until you’ve tried this. I am so glad I splurged and bought this.

5. Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose Moisturizing Conditioner

honeysuckle-rose-conditioner-botb-2time

PRICE: $10.93

INGREDIENTS: Water (Aqua), Cetyl Alcohol, Alcohol Denat. (38b, Lavender Organic), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) (Organic), Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Extract, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice (Organic), Glycerin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (Organic), Rosa Rubiginosa Seed Oil (Organic), Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Foeniculum Vulgare (Fennel) Fruit Extract, Humulus Lupulus (hops) Extract, Melissa Officinalis (Balm Mint) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Beta Carotene, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Angelica Archangelica Extract, Chrysanthemum Sinense Flower Extract, Magnolia Biondii Flower Extract, Ascorbic Acid

REVIEW: Another great deep conditioner. Literally upon putting onto my hair for the first time, the first words that came out of my mouth were “holy fuck”. Instantly transforms dry, brittle hair into luscious coils.

6. Shea Butter

Shea_Buttera1

PRICE: Varies

INGREDIENTS: All pure

REVIEW: Obviously this is on my list. Why wouldn’t it be? I love to seal with this.

7. Apple Cider Vinegar

ACV

PRICE: Varies

INGREDIENTS: Organic, pure

REVIEW: I saved the best for last. If you don’t cleanse your hair with this, what’s wrong with you? You should. This stuff is like magic in a bottle. It is the only reason why I haven’t bought Shea Moisture’s Purification Masque yet. What is the need to buy another hair cleanser when you have ACV? A lot of people say the smell is too harsh, but whatever. Suck it up for a few minutes. You won’t regret it. Nothing makes my curls pop more than this.

So was I lying or was I not lying when I said natural hair products have the longest names in the world?

I’ve even tried Karen Body Beautiful, Kinky Curly, Oyin Handmade, and Curl Junkie products, but my opinion still remains the same. Just because it seems that most naturals recommend a certain product, that doesn’t mean it will be good for your hair. You just simply have to try it for yourself to see. Find out for yourself what your hair likes.

One thought on “27 month natural hair transition

  1. Congrats on your transition journey. Your big chop will be an awesome experience! I remember when I just started to go natural and started using every product and a wise person told me why not just use the products you grew up with and that’s exactly what I did..Good luck to you during this journey and Happy bday when it comes, mine is 4/21!

Leave a Reply

