New Years resolutions

Photobucket

I just entered a Vitamin Shoppe contest for a $100 gift card.

To enter, all you had to do was tell them what your New Years resolution is. Mine is simple. I wrote:

“My New Years resolution is to actually follow through and finish my New Years resolutions. I have archives backed up with resolution files from 2010, 2011, 2012, and even 2007 that I have to reopen.”

Pressed enter and- BAM! Now I’m closer to winning a $100 shopping spree of buying nothing but aloe vera gel, organic coconut oil, and Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose Conditioner! If they have any sort of sense of humor, they will pick me. Doubt it. Immensely.

My New Years resolutions are basically the same every year. I follow them for the most part, except the ones about dieting and losing weight, of course. Who ever follows those? We just put those on our resolutions for a good laugh. In 2007, I wanted to lose 20lbs. In 2009, I wanted to lose 30lbs. In 2010, I needed to lose 40lbs and now, in 2013, I need to lose 50lbs. Notice how “want” changed to “need”. I went from weighing 170lbs in high school, thinking I was a fat cow, to weighing 180lbs in college still thinking I was a fat cow, to weighing 190lbs in AmeriCorps still thinking I was a fat cow, to now- weighing exactly 200lbs and really am, literally being a fat cow. Notice how “thinking” changed to “being”. Me being a fat cow is an actual fact now. It’s probably on Wikipedia. That’s how factual it is.

My goal weight has always been 145lbs-150lbs. I don’t know why. It just seems like a perfect goal weight for someone who is 5’10”, like myself.

My New Years resolutions are as follows:

1. Lose 50lbs

2. Exercise more

3. Drink only milk or water

4. Smile more

5. Compliment someone at least once a day

6. Tell my parents I love them at least once a day

7. Save $300 a month

8. Go back to college

9. Pay a small portion of your college loans

10. Buy your own first car

11. Do the “big chop” and finally become fully natural

12. No more fast food

13. Start drawing more

 

That’s all I can think of for now. 2012 was a great year, but I hope 2013 will be better 🙂

Leave a Reply

