My Hair Care Products

I decided to take a picture of all (well, most) of the hair products I use while I’m transitioning to natural hair. I know it’s hard to see them all so I decided to write it all out:

1. Aussie 3-Minute Miracle- I’ve heard a lot of buzz about this product from other naturals and apparently it’s, as they would put it, the “bomb.com” (why do so many naturals say that? It’s not really cool…). Unfortunately, it has dimethicone in it which is a silicone so it will build up on your hair fast, but I already bought it so I’m probably just going to use it anyway. And, nope, I haven’t used this product yet so I can’t exactly recommend it yet.

2. Suave Professionals Almond and Shea Butter Conditioner– I overheard so many naturals talking about how great Suave was, I immediately went out and bought this- without knowing that it was Suave NATURALS (not Professionals) products that they were talking about. I just grabbed the biggest Suave bottle I could find. I didn’t even know the ingredients included dimethicone until I got home- DAMMIT! TT_____TT

3. EcoStyler Morrocan Argan Oil Styler Gel– This is so cheap and perfect for taming fly aways; a good, non-crunchy hold. A lot of people recommended the olive oil gel, but I decided to switch it up and get this one.

4. Cantu Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Repair Cream– Is there anyone who doesn’t use this product? Honestly, it doesn’t provide that much moisture for me, but it’s cheap and effective enough for its price.

5. Suave Naturals Tropical Coconut Conditioner– I suddenly got intelligent and decided to get the Suave Naturals brand. So happy I did. I was anxious to try the honey in this product and it does wonders for my hair.

6. Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie– This shit is the bomb.com. Nuff’ said (umm, but didn’t you just say the ‘bomb.com’ was lame?).

7. Eden Body Works Jojoba Monoi Deep Conditioner– I really don’t like the smell of this product, but I somehow find myself attracted to its naturalness. The peppermint/tea tree oil scent to this is very apparent and the consistency is almost as thick as a relaxer. It’s cheap and gets the job done though so whatever.

8. Kinky-Curly Knot Today– This things positive reviews almost sky rocket through the roof, but I honestly don’t see why. It’s not that great. Maybe because I’m still transitioning so I don’t notice this ‘curl definition’ they speak of. I’ll have to give this product a true rating when I big chop.

9. Kinky-Curly Curling Custard– Same as KCKT. I feel as if they both weren’t moisturizing enough. Felt like water to my hair.

 

Other products: 

Africa’s Best Herbal Oil– I saw this at the store priced at $1.99 and I was like “ooh, gimme! Mine!” What a steal. But it kind of worries me that a product with so many oils in it would be so cheap. I keep reading the ingredients over and over again and I can’t figure out why this product is so cheap. Usually oils are expensive.

Thrifty Bee Honey– I’m not even sure how to incorporate honey into my hair care regimen. I was told that honey ligthens your hair. Right now, I just use for my face.

Spectrum (Refined) Organic Coconut Oil– A blessing from God. Unfortunately, this completely melted 😦 It says nowhere on the jar to store in the fridge.

Pompeian Grapeseed Oil– Another blessing.

Apple Cider Vinegar– Haven’t used this yet. Just like with honey, I’m not exactly sure how to use it. I just decided to use this over shampoo because the acidic level is less harsh. I heard it’s best to dilute it with water or else the results will be devastating.

Lily of the Desert Aloe Vera Gel– Goes on so smooth. I almost forgot to store it in my fridge. I just love natural products ^____^

And in the bottle, I have a mixture of water, grapeseed oil, extra virgin olive oil, and Africa’s Best Herbal Oil. I wish I wouldn’t have added the Africa’s Best Herbal Oil. I feel like my spritz just doesn’t work as well since I added it. Maybe it’s just too much added into one bottle.

 

So, does this make me a product junkie? I don’t think so. I’m just buying some basics.

Next, I want to buy Oyin Handmade and Curl Junkie products.

One thought on “My Hair Care Products

Leave a Reply

