21 Month Natural Hair Journey

I’ve been transitioning to my natural hair texture for approximately 1 year and 9 months, or simply 21 months as I like to put it. I’m not sure when I will do the big chop. I’m thinking of doing it at the end of this year or when I reach month 25 because I love multiples of 5 for some odd reason. I first transitioned in 2010 when I did the AmeriCorps NCCC program, but, around the end of the program, I chickened out and relaxed it all over again. I was a bit upset with my myself. Especially since I invested in so many products to care for it during that time, including paying $50 for Miss Jessie’s Super Treatment.

My second shot at transitioning started sometime around December 23, 2010. To be honest, I’m not 100% sure when my last relaxer was. I just know for a fact it was no later than April of 2011 and I know I’ve been transitioning for over a year. I decided to make this post to show you what my natural hair looks like now instead of hiding it under wigs all the time.

Ta-da!

Are my teeth really that yellow or is my camera phone just really shitty? Notice how I don’t edit any of my pictures. I just take them and upload them. *gasp* No, I do not use Photoshop. I don’t even know how to use Photoshop and I’m too broke to buy it anyway.

I have it braided all up into cornrows and it cascades down in the back, but…

For some odd reason, I decided to pin it up using bobby pins into a pile of shit in the back of my head! Yay 😀

I’ve had these braids for a little over a month (yes, I still condition and moisturize them) and they’re starting to look a mess so I’m going to take them down soon and show you all what my loose hair looks like *cringe* ^__^;;

Leave a Reply

