Dear Future Olivia

Something I wrote to myself while in AmeriCorps. It was an assignment, but our team leader never collected them so I wrote it for no reason TT___TT

Dear Future Olivia,

I aspire to be you. You’re beautiful. You’re intelligent. You’re creative. You- just like anyone else- deserve respect. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.  I know you’ve been through a lot of down falls in your life and you’ve been called every derogatory name imaginable, but please don’t let that stop you. Stay strong and remember what you came here for. Think of your goals and aspirations. I know AmeriCorps means a lot to you. This may have been some for others, but this was everything for you. When times get rough, think of everything you’ve been through and think to yourself “this is nothing”. You aren’t perfect and you will mess up, but so will everyone else. You’re only human. Even if everyone else turns their back on you and no one else believes in you, please always remember that I love you and I believe in you, and I always will

With love and concern and a tub of moose tracks ice cream for those days you feel alone,

Past Olivia

Leave a Reply

